Pirates

Follow Women As Treasure on WordPress.com

Pirates are alive and well on the world wide web. Learning how to navigate out on the rough seas of business can be a long tough process. My life collided with the internet back in 2008 when my family purchased a lap top for me as a birthday present. I took off barely looking back and decided I wanted to learn how to create a web site.

You read, you study, and try to build a presence on line… you might happen upon others that are using your name. I did, maybe if I’d been a little more savvy I would have known to apply for a trade mark early on.

Should I refer to others as pirates? There are many words out there that are free to be configured in many different ways. And maybe there were others who had used the phrase ‘Women As Treasure’ prior to 2008.

The difference is I didn’t see the phrase being used and then decide to use it as my own. Pirates take, the very definition is “One who robs at sea or plunders the land from the sea without commission from a sovereign nation”. Maybe it’s a stretch but it’s as if the treasure I was storing up has been plundered.

Kind of ironic that on yesterday I decided to check into Trademarks, and all that is entailed in the application process.

When I came across the other site today a lot of emotions began swirling around inside of me and I didn’t know what to do with them… I decided to come here and blow off some steam.

I’ve heard it said that “Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery”, I’ve even said it to my kids when they were little in response to things like: “Mom! Dee’s copying me!” It was annoying to the kids, and I must admit it’s annoying to me also.

So I will press forward with my Trademark application, Copy write application and what ever else I’m supposed to be doing as I attempt to build a brand and a business. Whether I accomplish these things or not the word is out:

WOMEN ARE TREASURE!

My main thrust will continue to be:

  1. Encourage women to view and accept themselves as the treasure God created them to be.
  2. Admonish women to improve themselves and their wonderful gifts, talents, and skills.
  3. Then share.

🙂 It’s after midnight here on the west coast… I’ve rolled into the 25th. I guess it’s time for some shut eye.

Leave a Reply

