Home » Treasure / Lack Thereof » Resolution? No New Mindset!

Resolution? No New Mindset!

Follow Women As Treasure on WordPress.com

Resolutions For 2013

Are you kidding me? 2012 is gone already… it’s seems quite frankly that it was just a few of months ago when we all were counting down –
THREE! TWO! ONE! HAPPY NEW YEAR! (Shall old acquaintance be forgot… You remember.)
Is it really time to make resolutions that may only last for a month or two… or is it time for a new way of thinking? Question? What did you do with your list of 2012 resolutions, did they make it to March, how about June? Well good for you. Some of us didn’t make it that far 😉

Today is the first day of the rest of your life!

I’m sure you’ve heard this said before; has it become another catch phrase to be throw around (not holding any weight)? Or are you willing to say it to yourself with a different perspective. Saying it with conviction, and believing it this time. We each have another day hopefully another year to do something meaningful, to make a positive difference in our life or the life of someone else.

We tend to focus so much on the negative, let’s highlight all that’s good and right in this world. I dare you to get caught doing something good (the whole idea is to try to remain anonymous). I challenge you to find someone less fortunate than yourself and do something for them (not asking for anything in return). Here’s a new thought, how about the government attempting to live on a balanced budget? (Sorry, supposed to be positive) Stop spending more than you have; there, that’s positive, or at least the government wouldn’t be in the negative column.

OK, getting back on track. Bottom line, let’s treasure the life we have been given. Your life may not be in the best shape right now, you may be down and out (so to speak). Let’s start right there… I’m talking about your speech. Nothing new age, just your mindset. “As a man thinketh in his heart so is he.” Whether you are male or female, your thoughts are very important.

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

Our thoughts are just that, OUR thoughts. We have control over them, no one else. Controlling our thoughts is something we can all do that won’t cost us a dime, but we stand to gain a big return. It pays good dividends. This isn’t some hocus pocus magic trick, and it isn’t as easy as it sounds.  I speak from experience, and I had divine help. I’ve smiled with tears running down my face saying out loud to no one but myself; “It’s gotta change”. I’ve lived with sadness, and despair as roommates. Hopelessness drove me to try to end my life more than once.

There are times when I want to offer words of encouragement to others and feelings of “Who are you” creep into my mind. I have to suppress those thoughts and feelings and remind myself that true I am no one special, and I definitely don’t have all the answers. It’s just that there was a time when my life wasn’t so great and I would have loved for someone to reach out to me. I was raped and I kept it to myself, besides that I grew in an incestuous home. I wasn’t always married, and there was a time when I thought I never would be. There were times when I tried to give up on life, and almost succeeded. Times early on in my marriage that it didn’t seem like it would last ten years, let alone the wonderful thirty-four years it has. I lived with more than my share of hurt and pain (and I know there are countless others that would have traded my situation for theirs any day. We only have to walk a few steps in someone else shoes to realize life could be worse.

  “I cried because I had no shoes, then I met a man who had no feet.”

And so I encourage you to take on a new mindset this coming year. Will it get you a job “Right Away” probably not, but it won’t hurt to look for inexpensive ways to enhance your job skills, take every opportunity to better yourself. Encourage yourself, watch your thoughts.

Will this stop your teenager from being a brat; again probably not right away. But first try being a parent instead of a friend. Respect your child and require them to respect you as well. Love goes a long way. Love is not buying your child stuff, it’s caring enough to be there for them, and teaching them the difference between right and wrong.

Will changing your thoughts put food on your table, or shelter over your head, I pray it were as easy as that. Where is the America of yesteryear, when neighbors genuinely cared for one another. Today we are hesitant to help others for fear of them taking advantage of us (and rightly so). There are faith based organizations that are willing to help. There are still good samaritans willing to help someone in need. I challenge you to put on your good samaritan hat this coming year.

Speaking of faith 🙂 I would be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge the divine help that I received early on in my life. I accepted Jesus. Did that acceptance stop my father from drinking and change my life over night to one of roses, gum drops, and parades everyday – no, but I gained a new mindset.

It rains on the just and the unjust, it’s all a matter of how I choose to walk this life that was purchased for me. With His help I made it through, hopefully I can help someone else.

2013 is here, what are you going to do with it?

Leave a Reply

