Home » Treasure / Lack Thereof » Work You’d Do Without Getting Paid!

Work You’d Do Without Getting Paid!

Follow Women As Treasure on WordPress.com
Stop Cocooning

Spread Your Wings & Fly!

WHAT ARE YOU PASSIONATE ABOUT?

I met a young woman this morning in the Club Lounge of a particular hotel, she was so bubbly and excited about the company she has aligned herself with. I was drawn in simply by her smile and enthusiasm…. I had to ask what “It Works” meant (it was on her sweat shirt), she put her breakfast plate down and left to go to her room to get me a brochure. Did I mention she was passionate about what she does. šŸ™‚

I’m not affiliated with her in anyway, and I’ve never used her products…. but when she told me her why (She wants to help her husband give her and their children a better life. They do what they need to do to send their young children to a school that offers STEM classes). Her desire is to leave corporate America and have a job that is fun.

I wanted to help in some way. So if you are curious check out her It Works site. Just tell her ‘Women As Treasure’ sent you. It doesn’t feather my cap, I just want her to know that I remembered her and that she made an impression.

So I ask again… are you passionate about what you are currently doing? If your answer is no what are you going to do about it? It’s time to come out of your shell, time to dust off your dream, time to break out of that cocoon.

Cocooning is the name given to the trend that sees individuals socializing less and retreating into their home more. The term was coined in the 1990s by Faith Popcorn, a trend forecaster and marketing consultant.

Faith coined the term “Cocooning” which is the impulse to stay inside when people feel the ‘outside’ has gotten too tough and scary”. They then turn their homes into a “nest” or a cocoon if you will.

It’s time for women young and old to break out of their cocoon, time to emerge like a butterfly to enjoy the life they were created to enjoy.

The process of a lava becoming a butterfly is a fascinating one…. just don’t stay inside too long šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

