Home » In The News » We Will Never Forget… Right?

We Will Never Forget… Right?

Follow Women As Treasure on WordPress.com

a-book-heartThis week has been a tearful one.

Although the tears I have shed are nothing compared to those of the friends and love ones that lost someone 15 years ago.

My prayers are for the fallen, for those that suffer numerous illnesses because of that day, and also for those that are left here to mourn the many who’s lives were cut short that fateful day.

I pray that time has eased the pain and that cherished memories has filled it’s place.

But now to the question… and it is being posed to the United States as a whole; where is the unity that we felt as a nation? Where is compassion we felt for one another?

It’s strange, Christians and people of faith were able to pray openly without ridicule.

We rallied together as a nation, we weren’t black, white, brown, or even green?

We were Americans, and think what you may… I for one am grateful George Bush was at the helm, I felt he was going to do what was needed to keep America safe. In hindsight many are saying that there was no need to go to war. And even if we did we attacked the wrong country.

You know what they say about hindsight? It’s 20/20.

The fear and uncertainty that was felt across the nation was tense the days following the attack. I can only speak for myself, but I cried and cheered the day we struck back. It’s like the feeling that you get when you go home and tell your big brother that bullies hurt you and your friends. Your brother then sends his friends to go teach the bullies a lesson. Thank you President Bush and all those that were a part of the government 15 years ago. There were tough decisions that had to be made and I know they were not easy to make.

I hope this little analogy doesn’t trivialize the tragedy that happened, that is not my intention. I just wanted to tell you how I felt.

The point behind this is to encourage us to remember the unity we felt in the days following 9-11. Let’s strive to be compassionate to one another.

Stand strong America, no we aren’t perfect… no where near it! But I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else in the world. Let’s focus on the good (not ignore the bad), and work to be a better place. It starts with each of us individually. I can’t make you a better person, just like you can’t make me. I can work on myself, and I ask you to do the same.

In closing would it asking too much for Christians to added to the list of those we are to be tolerant to?

Leave a Reply

